4th and Long

Sports News, Humor, and Commentation

  • Follow Along on Twitter!

  • Blog Posts

    March 2009
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Past Posts

Entry #5 — Grab Bag

Posted by FantasyFreak911 on March 30, 2009

Hey all, how’s everything going?

Today’s post has no real foundation, so I’m just going to ramble on about a bunch of random stories from the days sports headlines.

The reason I am using random stories is because a certain Fantasy Baseball league commissioner has yet to post our live offline draft results to ESPN.

I would love to go over how well I drafted as well as a few others in the league, but I can’t, so THANKS!

So, anyways, be on the lookout for that post. And enjoy this one.

First. I am getting sick and tired of the NCAA tournament already, yet I am still pulled in by every game.

The final four has been set featuring two #1 seeds, a #2 seed, and a #3 seed. Pretty average.

I am going to give you my predictions for these games.

First, I believe that Michigan St. will be run out of the building by Uconn, unfortunately. The Huskies are on a war path right now, and the 2 seeded Spartans aren’t going to trip them up.

For the second game, North Carolina has also been dominating their opponents, unlike Villanova, who had a scare in round 1 against Patriot League champs American University.

Therefore I am picking the Tar Heels, making my NCAA Championship match up:

Connecticut vs. North Carolina

Leading to the toughest pick of the tournament.

However, I am going to have to go with Toe Lawson (quote from Tim Olsen) and Tyler Hansborough a.k.a. “Freak” over Hasheem Thabeet and A.J. Price.

North Carolina def. Connecticut

Finally, the tournament is over, and I already miss it =(

Anyways, next topic:

Kevin Gregg is the Cubs new closer; NOT CARLOS MARMOL!!!

If you are in a fantasy league for baseball this year, head that headline.

Marmol was a top relief pitching prospect going into this season, until now. Gregg is the new closer, therefore, pick him up!!!

There are a couple of guys in my league who are going to read this and laugh at the person who took him, as well as be fighting to get Gregg, I am included.

So, please take it upon yourself to sign Kevin Gregg and either bench, or drop Carlos Marmol.

Good Luck!

Finally our third topic, Calipari to Kentucky?

Yes, Coach Jon Calipari is seriously contemplating a coaching job with the Kentucky Wildcats, a source close to the situation has reported.

He has been meeting with the top heads at Memphis and awaiting this big multimillion dollar contract offer from Kentucky.

No word has been said if he wants the job or not, but serious talks have emerged and will continue through the next few days.

Some reasons to leave his Memphis program behind are the feelings of tradition and a love of basketball felt in the state of Kentucky, and a stout rivalry between Louisville head coach Rick Pitino.

Of course, leaving a program that was built up from nothing and turned into a perennial National Title contender isn’t easy either.

Good Luck to ya Jon.

And good luck to you my loyal subjects.

Win your brackets
Win your fantasy baseball leagues
and….umm….

Ahh win whatever the hell ya want
Lose for all I care

C ya!

Leave a comment